Top 5 tracks from Bayside’s Vacancy

4d0ffbe3d78fb60512176ac49e1ce451-1000x1000x1

1) Two Letters

2) The Ghost

3) It Doesn’t Make It True

4) Maybe, Tennessee

5) Not Fair

 

Album Rating: 4/5 Motel Keys

image

Song breakdown after the jump!

Two Letters: Lyrically and musically the best song off the album from top to bottom. Both verses, the chorus, and bridge are near perfect. I keep coming back to it.

“I can’t explain why it gets harder / The more people counton me / […] and I’m still in the basement / With no tattoos or mortgage payments”

The Ghost: A pop-punk’s
fan wet dream. Sad lyrics over an upbeat poppy tune. The bridge falls a bit flat for me and musically nothing is really new here…I’m looking at you key-change. Try to get this one out of your head.

“I will change, I will change I swear, just tell me what to do. Tell me who to be, and I’ll be who you
want me to.”

It Doesn’t Make It True: The lyrical maturity of this tune hits me like a ton of bricks. A nice shot of reality. I sing along the loudest to this song.

“I know that acceptance comes first / And if I want to change then I’ve got to work. / Just cause I say I do, / doesn’t make it true.”

Maybe, Tennessee: If you are a fan of 90’s rock music and wacky time signatures changes, you will dig this song. The bridge always gives me chills.

“I thought the wine could chase the past away /But it hid under the couch”

Not Fair: The second song to jump out at me after the first spin. The bridge makes it sound
like you are in a demented carnival. Musically, this theme has also been seen in “They’re Not Horses, They’re Unicorns”.

“Trust me I know / You don’t always reap what you sow. /Life’s not fair / like we hoped. / You’re not stuck with the path you chose.”


Buy Vacancy: http://smarturl.it/Vacancy

Tour dates:


Leave a Reply

